DJNvSIZXgAAUo1N.jpg

When I was 17, I had my first ever professional engagement as a magician. At the time I was simply pursuing magic with a raw passion, giving no consideration to where that interest might lead. I didn’t think about making money from magic and certainly I didn’t ever believe it could be considered a career.

Fast forward 15 years and it’s an entirely different landscape. For the last 9 years I have been a full time magician, performing close up magic at a variety of functions. Alongside the sleight of hand I have been developing a stage illusion act with my close friend Richard Young. It’s an act which has opened up a variety of opportunities, most recently the opportunity of flying to Las Vegas to perform on the Penn & Teller stage in the Rio Hotel. Here’s a clip of our performance (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RT7-DROna6A). Our website for is http://www.youngandstrange.co.uk.

Perhaps the most exciting opportunity of all, to date, is the upcoming tour of a show called Champions of Magic (www.championsofmagic.co.uk). I’ve been involved in the show for about 4 years and it’s a montage magic show which means I spend a lot of time hanging around with magicians. The most recent tour is about 30 shows spread over 7 weeks at various theatres around the USA and Canada. The bulk of trip will be spent on a tour bus with the rest of the cast and crew. By any performers standards (let alone a 17 year old boy, performing at a relatives birthday party) this is an incredibly exciting experience and I simply cannot wait.

Most importantly of all, it’s not only an opportunity to have the time of my life, but also to improve and hone my magic knowledge and ability. The more shows I get under my belt, to different audiences, the better I’ll become.  It does make me consider what I might type out in a blog post another 15 years from now…..

